Our organism is daily subjected to nutritional transitions, an alternation between fasted and post-prandial states. Our organs have different hormonal and enzymatic systems to adapt their metabolism to these nutritional changes. Specifically, the liver plays a key role in the control of glucose homeostasis and has various glucose sensors to regulate its oxidative metabolism and determine whether it has to produce glucose (fasted state) or store it (post-prandial state), mainly as glycogen and fat. The works of the team 3 investigated by Jennifer Rieusset recently demonstrated that the points of contact between mitochondria and the endoplasmic reticulum (ER), called MAM (Mitochondria-associated ER membranes), is a new glucose-sensing mechanism enabling to adapt mitochondrial dynamics and function to nutritional status.

We identified that the transition from fasted to fed state reduced ER-mitochondria interactions in mouse liver. We subsequently demonstrated in vitro that this was the presence of high glucose concentrations which were responsible for the reduction of MAM integrity, via the activation of the pentose phosphate-protein phosphatase 2A pathway. Furthermore, the regulation of MAM by glucose induced mitochondria fission and impaired respiration. Indeed, the prevention of the decrease of MAM abolished glucose-induced mitochondrial alterations, whereas an experimental alteration of MAM mimicked the effect of glucose on mitochondrial dynamics and function. Interestingly, the regulation of MAM by glucose is absent in the liver of obese and diabetic mouse, characterized by chronic alteration of MAM, mitochondria fission, and reduced mitochondrial respiration. Altogether,  these data indicate that MAM allow the liver to adapt the mitochondrial metabolism to glucose availability and link PP2A as an important target for modulating ER-mitochondria interactions in the liver. Finally, these data suggest that chronic disruption of MAM may participate in mitochondrial dysfunction and hepatic metabolic alterations associated with obesity and diabetes.

We propose that the regulation of MAM by glucose is a new mechanism regulating metabolic flexibility in the liver. At fasted state, the liver preferentially uses free fatty acids from adipose tissue as substrates and the maximal interaction between ER and mitochondria promotes their mitochondrial oxidation. In the fed state, the massive increase in glucose flux into the liver redirects glucose through the storage pathways into glycogen and triglycerides. Under such conditions, the decrease of interactions mitochondria-RE should contribute slowing down lipid oxidation and favoring lipogenesis.

.

Theurey , Tubbs E, Vial G, Jacquemetton J, Bendridi N, Chauvin MA, Alam MR, Le Romancer M, Vidal H, Rieusset J. Mitochondria-associated endoplasmic reticulum membranes allow adaptation of mitochondrial metabolism to glucose availability in the liver. J Mol Cell Biol. 2016 Apr;8(2):129-43. PubMed

 

Contact:

trombi-jrieussetJennifer Rieusset

Team 3 – Laboratoire CarMeN
Mail :jennifer.rieusset@univ-lyon1.fr

Notre organisme est soumis au quotidien à des transitions nutritionnelles, des passages cycliques d’un état à jeun à un état post-prandial. Nos organes disposent de différents systèmes hormonaux et enzymatiques pour adapter leur métabolisme à ces changements nutritionnels. Plus particulièrement, le foie joue un rôle clé dans le contrôle de l’homéostasie glucidique et dispose de différents « senseurs » du glucose afin de réguler son métabolisme oxydatif et déterminer s’il doit produire du glucose (à jeun) et stocker celui (état post-prandial), principalement sous forme de glycogène et de lipides. Les travaux de l’équipe 3 animés par Jennifer Rieusset viennent de démontrer que les points de contact entre la mitochondrie et le réticulum endoplasmique (RE), appelés MAM (Mitochondria-associated ER membranes), constitue un nouvel élément de « glucose-sensing » permettant d’adapter la dynamique et la fonction mitochondriale à l’état nutritionnel.

Ainsi nous avons identifié que le passage d’un état à jeun à un état nourrit diminue les interactions mitochondrie-RE dans le foie de souris. Nous avons par la suite démontré in vitro que c’était la présence de fortes concentration de glucose qui était responsable de la diminution de l’intégrité des MAM, via l’activation de la voie des pentoses phosphates et la phosphatase PP2A. Cette régulation des MAM par le glucose induit une fission des mitochondries et diminue leur respiration. En effet, la prévention de la diminution des MAM abolit les altérations mitochondriales induites par le glucose, tandis qu’une altération expérimentale des MAM mime l’effet du glucose sur la dynamique et la fonction mitochondriale. De manière intéressante, cette régulation des MAM par le glucose est absente dans le foie de souris obèses et diabétiques qui présentent une altération chronique des MAM, des mitochondries fragmentées et une respiration mitochondriale réduite. L’ensemble de ces données indiquent donc que les MAM permettent au foie d’adapter le métabolisme mitochondrial à la disponibilité en glucose et pointent PP2A comme une cible importante pour moduler les interactions mitochondrie-RE au niveau du foie. Enfin, ces données suggèrent que la perte de régulation des MAM par le glucose pourrait participer aux dysfonctionnements mitochondriaux et aux perturbations métaboliques hépatiques associés à l’obésité et au diabète.

Nous proposons que ce nouveau mécanisme de régulation des MAM par le glucose participe à la flexibilité métabolique du foie. A jeun, le foie utilise préférentiellement les acides gras libres en provenance du tissu adipeux et les interactions optimales entre la mitochondrie et le RE favorise leur oxydation mitochondriale. A l’état nourri, l’augmentation massive du flux de glucose dans le foie oriente son stockage sous forme de glycogène et de triglycérides. Dans ces conditions, la diminution des interactions mitochondrie-RE contribue à freiner son oxydation mitochondriale.

 

Theurey , Tubbs E, Vial G, Jacquemetton J, Bendridi N, Chauvin MA, Alam MR, Le Romancer M, Vidal H, Rieusset J. Mitochondria-associated endoplasmic reticulum membranes allow adaptation of mitochondrial metabolism to glucose availability in the liver. J Mol Cell Biol. 2016 Apr;8(2):129-43. PubMed

 

Contact:

trombi-jrieussetJennifer Rieusset

Equipe 3 – Laboratoire CarMeN
Mail :jennifer.rieusset@univ-lyon1.fr