Skeletal muscle is the main tissue responsible for insulin-stimulated glucose uptake, so it plays a major role in regulating glycemia after meals. In insulin resistance, the muscle is less able to use glucose in response to insulin, thus participating in the hyperglycemia of diabetic patients, responsible for serious complications. Any strategy to improve insulin sensitivity of skeletal muscle would therefore reduce hyperglycemia in diabetic patients and improve associated complications. This is the challenge of any studies trying to identify new molecular mechanisms involved in muscle insulin resistance. The work of the team 3 managed by Jennifer Rieusset, in collaboration with the teams 2 and 5, have just highlighted the critical role of endoplasmic reticulum (ER)-mitochondria miscommunication in the development of the muscle insulin resistance, suggesting future avenues for improving blood glucose levels in diabetic patients.

 

In the study published at January 11, 2018 in the journal “Diabetes”, we demonstrate that the communication between ER and mitochondria plays a key role in the control of insulin action in skeletal muscle and that organelle miscommunication is associated with muscle insulin resistance in mice and humans. More specifically, the main advances of this work are:

– ER-mitochondrial contacts are altered in the skeletal muscle of different mouse models of insulin resistance and type 2 diabetes, and this lack of intracellular communication precedes the onset of mitochondrial dysfunction and muscle insulin resistance.

– The induction of insulin resistance in human myotubes is associated with a reduction of ER-mitochondria interactions and calcium exchange, and the increase in these structural contacts prevents palmitate-induced insulin resistance.

– Decreasing ER-mitochondria interactions is sufficient to alter muscle insulin action both in vitro and in vivo

– The myotubes of obese patients with or without diabetes, which conserve their insulin resistance in primary culture, show a significant reduction of ER-mitochondrial interactions, compared to myotubes of control subjects.

 

Therefore, a loss of communication between ER and mitochondria could be a common alteration to several insulin-sensitive tissues, and thus could play a major role in the hyperglycemia of diabetic patients. Finding strategies to improve organelle communication may be a new treatment pathway to improve insulin sensitivity and glucose homeostasis in type 2 diabetes. For that, future studies to better understand how ER-mitochondria interactions are regulated and how they participate in the control of insulin action are necessary, in order to identify new therapeutic strategies to modulate organelle communication and hopefully improve metabolic diseases.

A lack of communication between ER and mitochondria contributes to muscle insulin resistance. In physiological situations, ER and mitochondria interact and exchange calcium and this contributes to the control of insulin-stimulated glucose uptake into skeletal muscle, and thus to the maintenance of normoglycemia. In insulin resistance, both organelles interact less, disrupting calcium transfer, and probably mitochondrial function, and thus altering the action of insulin. The resultant decrease in insulin-stimulated glucose transport then contributes to hyperglycemia observed during obesity and type 2 diabetes, and which is a source of serious complications.

 

 Tubbs E, Chanon S, Robert M, Bendridi N, Bidaux G, Chauvin MA, Ji-Cao J, Durand C, Gauvrit-Ramette D, Vidal H, Lefai E, Rieusset J. Disruption of Mitochondria-Associated Endoplasmic Reticulum Membranes (MAMs) Integrity Contributes to Muscle Insulin Resistance in Mice and Humans. Diabetes. 2018 Jan 11. pii: db170316. doi: 10.2337/db17-0316. [Epub ahead of print] PMID: 29326365

Contact:

Jennifer RIEUSSET

Team 3 – Laboratoire CarMeN
Mail :jennifer.rieusset@univ-lyon1.fr

Le muscle squelettique est le principal tissu responsable de la captation du glucose en réponse à l’insuline, il joue donc un rôle majeur dans la régulation de la glycémie après les repas. En situation d’insulino-résistance, le muscle est moins capable d’utiliser le glucose en réponse en l’insuline, participant ainsi à l’hyperglycémie des patients diabétiques, responsable de complications graves. Toute stratégie visant à améliorer la sensibilité à l’insuline du muscle squelettique permettrait donc de diminuer l’hyperglycémie des patients diabétiques et améliorer les complications associées. Tel est l’enjeu actuel des études visant à identifier de nouveaux mécanismes en cause dans l’insulino-résistance musculaire. Les travaux de l’équipe 3 animée par Jennifer Rieusset, en collaboration avec les équipes 2 et 5, viennent de mettre en évidence le rôle critique de la perte d’interaction entre le réticulum endoplasmique (RE) et la mitochondrie dans le développement de l’insulino-résistance musculaire, laissant entrevoir de futures pistes pour améliorer la glycémie des patients diabétiques.

 

Dans l’étude publiée le 11 janvier 2018 dans le journal Diabetes, nous démontrons que la communication entre le RE et la mitochondrie joue un rôle clé dans le contrôle de l’action de l’insuline dans le muscle et qu’un défaut de communication est associé à l’insulino-résistance musculaire dans les modèles animaux et chez l’homme. Plus spécifiquement. Les principales avancées de ces travaux sont :

  • Les contacts mitochondrie-RE sont altérées dans le muscle squelettique de différents modèles murins d’insulino-résistance et de diabète de type 2, et ce défaut de communication intracellulaire précède l’installation de la dysfonction mitochondriale et de l’insulino-résistance musculaire.
  • L’induction d’une insulino-résistance dans des myotubes humains en culture primaire est associée à une diminution des interactions et des échanges calciques entre le RE et la mitochondrie, et l’augmentation des ces contacts structuraux prévient l’IR induite par le palmitate.
  • Diminuer les interactions mitochondrie-RE est suffisant pour altérer l’action de l’insuline dans le muscle in vitro et in vivo.
  • Les myotubes de patients obèses avec ou sans diabète, qui conservent leurs défauts de sensibilité à l’insuline en culture, présentent une diminution significative des interactions mitochondrie-RE, comparé à des myotubes de sujets contrôles.

Par conséquent, une perte de communication entre ces deux organites pourrait être une altération commune à plusieurs tissus sensibles à l’insuline, et donc pourrait jouer un rôle majeur dans l’hyperglycémie des patient diabétiques. Trouver des stratégies visant à améliorer cette communication pourrait ainsi constituer une nouvelle piste de traitement pour améliorer la sensibilité à l’insuline et l’homéostasie glucidique au cours du diabète de type 2. Pour cela, de futures études visant à mieux comprendre comment sont régulées ces contacts mitochondrie-RE et comment ils participent au contrôle de l’action de l’insuline sont nécessaires, afin d’identifier de nouvelles stratégies pour moduler la communication entre ces deux organites et espérer améliorer les maladies métaboliques.

 

 Un défaut de communication entre le RE et la mitochondrie participe à l’insulino-résistance musculaire. En situation physiologique, le RE et la mitochondrie interagissent et échanges du calcium et cela participe au contrôle de l’entrée de glucose stimulée par l’insuline dans le muscle squelettique, et donc au maintien de la normoglycémie. En situation d’insulino-résistance, les deux organites interagissent moins, perturbant les transferts de calcium, et probablement la fonction mitochondriale, et altérant ainsi l’action de l’insuline. La diminution du transport de glucose en réponse à l’insuline qui en résulte participe ainsi à l’hyperglycémie que l’on retrouve en situation d’obésité et de diabète de type 2 et qui est source de complications graves.

Tubbs E, Chanon S, Robert M, Bendridi N, Bidaux G, Chauvin MA, Ji-Cao J, Durand C, Gauvrit-Ramette D, Vidal H, Lefai E, Rieusset J. Disruption of Mitochondria-Associated Endoplasmic Reticulum Membranes (MAMs) Integrity Contributes to Muscle Insulin Resistance in Mice and Humans. Diabetes. 2018 Jan 11. pii: db170316. doi: 10.2337/db17-0316. [Epub ahead of print] PMID: 29326365

 

L’article de vulgarisation relatif à cette publication est en ligne sur inserm.fr :

https://www.inserm.fr/actualites-et-evenements/actualites/resistance-insuline-histoire-communication

 

Contact:

Jennifer RIEUSSET

Equipe 3 – Laboratoire CarMeN
Mail :jennifer.rieusset@univ-lyon1.fr